South Sioux City, Nebraska May Consider Breed Ban

By Editor
In BSL
Oct 15th, 2007
1 Comment
2092 Views

From KTIV Channel 4 News:

“…After a six year old boy was mauled by three pit bulls last month, officials want to toughen up it’s pet policy.

…Right now, the city takes action after a dog has bitten, or attempted to bite, someone. City Administrator Lance Hedquist decides if the owner will have to cage in their pet or if it’ll be euthanized.

City leaders now want to tighten up their pet ordinance… to prevent another tragedy from happening. One idea…. not to allow certain breeds of dogs within city within.”

Lance Hedquist, City Manager, says “Pit bulls come up a lot. And should we ban all pit bulls from the city. And that’s an option they have.”

Council member Merrill Hale doesn’t support a breed based ordinance. He’d rather put a leash on pet owners.

Merrill Hale, South Sioux City Council Member, says ‘It’s not the dog. It’s the owner’.”

Please send your polite and respectful letters to the members of the South Sioux City City Council and tell them breed bans are ineffective and unenforceable:

City Hall
1615 1st Ave.
South Sioux City, NE 68776

Phone: 402-494-7500
FAX: 402-494-7527

Mayor Bob Giese: bgiese@southsiouxcity.org
Council President, Sandra Inkster-Ehrich: sehrich@southsiouxcity.org
Al Bengston: abengtson@southsiouxcity.org
Jason Bowman: jbowman@southsiouxcity.org
Dennis Nelson: dnelson@southsiouxcity.org
Merril Hale: mhale@southsiouxcity.org
Gary Hallstrom: ghallstrom@southsiouxcity.org
John Sanders: jsanders@southsiouxcity.org
Oscar Gomez: ogomez@southsiouxcity.org

One Response to “South Sioux City, Nebraska May Consider Breed Ban”

  1. Justin Olson says:

    To whom it may concern,

    I am a 25yr old man that has had many encounters with dogs of all breeds. I currently own a American Pit Bull Terrier and Love him to death. His loyalty to me and my 4yr old and 2yr old is amazing. I don’t believe in BSL (Breed Specific Legislation) because I have seen the littliest of breeds be aggressive and bite. I currently live in Arkansas but visit South Sioux City Nebraska about 5-10 times a year. My grandparents live there you might know them, Karilyn and Elmer Watkins? I some times bring my American Pit bull Terrier with us and we stay at my grandparents’ house. The block I live on in Arkansas has many breeds of dogs and the only one to ever bite anyone is a little Poodle. My dog has a Chihuahua as a companion and is very loving to all the kids in the neighbor hood, in-fact many of the parents let their kids take care of him if we leave him home on trips. I am writing this letter to PLEASE ask you to reconsider the BSL (Breed Specific Legislation) laws and to terminate the rights of lazy owners who don’t train the animals properly, not the dogs that are just doing what they are trained. I know about the 6yr old boy that was mauled by the 3 “pit bulls”. In-fact my grandfather Elmer was on that call. He was very stirred up by that and the fact that I am his oldest grandson and have 2 of his great-grandchildren and I do own an American Pit Bull Terrier. But he does know that I have trained and loved my animal and he does trust the fact that my animal will not attack. Just cause a dog is big and bulky doesn’t mean that it will attack. Please address the facts and punish the ones who can not properly care for and train the animals not the animals themselves. Please take the time and look over this web-site http://www.understand-a-bull.com. Thank you for your time and please get the education available on this subject before you vote. Please, mans best friend depends on us to keep them alive.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*