Lakewood, Washington Considers Breed-Specific Ordinance for “Pit Bulls”

By Editor
In BSL
Apr 2nd, 2008
0 Comments
1470 Views

From the Seattle Post Intelligencer:

“The city of Lakewood is looking at tightening up its animal control laws…

City Manager Andrew Neiditz says in examining dangerous dog calls in Lakewood in the past several years, he found most involved pit bulls.

Neiditz told the City Council last night that officials will look at Auburn’s ordinance, passed in 2006, which lists 12 dog breeds, as potentially dangerous and requires owners to register them with the city. The breeds include pit bulls and bull terriers.”

Please write Lakewood City Council members at the following e-mail addresses and politely inform them that breed-specific legislation in any form is ineffective and unenforceable.  An enforced leash law and a non-breed-specific dog law are more than adequate to police irresponsible dog owners of any breed:

Mayor Douglas G. Richardson, DRichardson@cityoflakewood.us

Deputy Mayor Don Anderson, DAnderson@cityoflakewood.us

Councilman Pad Finnigan, pfinnigan@cityoflakewood.us

Councilman Walter Neary, wneary@cityoflakewood.us

Councilwoman Helen McGovern, hmcgovern@cityoflakewood.us

Councilman Ron Cronk, rcronk@cityoflakewood.us

Councilwoman Claudia Thomas, CThomas@cityoflakewood.us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*